Welcome to Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Darbhanga established on August 5, 1972 by an Ordinance of the Government of Bihar subsequently enacted through legislatures.

The year - 1968 may be regarded as a landmark year in the history of the University when a UGC team visited Darbhanga in order to explore the possibility of establishing a multi faculty University here. Subsequently State Government set up a committee to examine the administrative and academic structure of a modern University at Darbhanga, following the recommendations made by the visiting team of the U.G.C.

The territorial jurisdiction of the University is spread over four districts of Bihar namely Madhubani, Darbhanga, Samastipur and Begusarai. The university has 43 constituent colleges and 25 affiliated colleges besides two government colleges - Darbhanga Medical College & Hospital and Rural Institute, Birouli, Samastipur. 42 constituent colleges and 07 affiliated colleges are registered under section 2 f and 12(B) of the U.G.C. Act, 1956.

The Government of India constituted another committee consisting of Sri T. P. Singh, Secretary Ministry of Education and Social Welfare, Sri. R. K. Chhabra, secretary, U.G.C. and Sri N. D. J. Rao, Education Commissioner, Bihar, to look into the matter of establishing a University at Darbhanga. They reported that the establishment of a separate and independent University at Darbhanga could be considered on merit.


Consequent upon the report of the above mentioned committee and considering the socio-economic background of the region, the Mithila University with headquarters at Darbhanga was established by an ordinance, in 1972 carving out colleges at Darbhanga division and Kosi division from the then two Universities - Bihar University, Muzaffarpur and Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur respectively.

After the sad demise of Pt. Lalit Narayan Mishra in January, 1975, the name of Mithila University was amended as Lalit Narayan Mithila University. But it was soon reversed to the original name through an ordinance. However in 1980, the name Lalit Narayan Mithila University was restored through an ordinance.


The university has a picturesque and lushgreen campus spread over an area of nearly 230 acres.


UGC Recognition :


1986 should go down as another important year in the history of L. N. Mithila University, when the University got much needed recognition of the University Grants Commission (UGC) under section 12 (A) of the UGC Act paving way for the receipt of the various types of financial assistance from the UGC. The UGC started providing institutional development grants under section 12(B) of the UGC Act since February 1989. This notable achievement of the University accelerated pace of campus development. The developmental activities within the University campus began to stride with the investment of grants received from the U.G.C. and the State Government. Botany, Physics, Chemistry and Zoology Science Blocks, Central Library Building, Social Sciences Block, University, University Health Centre, University Health Centre, Kosi, Baghmati, and Gandak P.G. Hostels for boys and Archana (Kamala) Hostel for girl students are new additions to the structural built of the University campus. The last phase of the ninth five years plan has set the tempo of construction activities, as a result of which eight U.G.C. quarters for lecturers, canteen, an ambitious Silver Jubilee Hall are nearing completion. Besides, the projects of construction of large stadium, magnificent auditorium, quarters for Pro-Vice-Chancellor and registrar etc. are on the anvil.


Home | Management | Campus | Infrastructure | Library | Programmes | Projects | Vision | Affiliated Institutions | Constituent Colleges | Publication | Verify Registration | Result | Contact Us

Copy Right 2005 lnmu